2018 Texas State Association Leadership Award – Julia Reyes, DPN, RN

Greetings. It is my great honor to announce to you the winner of the 2018 Texas State Association Leadership Award sponsored by Medique- Julia Reyes, DPN, RN. Julia is the Director of Occupational Health at Driscoll Health System’s (DHS) in Corpus Christi, Texas. She has been the president of San Antonio TSAOHN since Oct 2016.

Julia has transformed her department into a strategic partner, contributing directly to the goals of DHS, and achieving demonstrative improvement in several areas.

Julia lead the DHS overall system stretch goal of decreasing work related injuries by over 20% in fiscal year 2017. Julia implemented several tactics throughout the hospital, to achieve this goal. Examples include implementing monthly injury reviews with employees, implementing hospital-wide training on slips/trips/falls, and focusing specialized training efforts in tailored to the needs of specific departments.

Additional examples of Julia’s leadership include improving TB compliance from less than 60% to nearly 100%, decreasing workers compensation injuries by over 300%, and implementing a System-wide occupational health information system.

She organized a group called “Hands and Feet” to serve community post Hurricane Harvey. Assisted with clean-up of homes, yards, and collected and distributed supplies as needed. In two weeks post Harvey, the group logged over 200 hours in helping the community, and the group is continuing to offer manual labor support in an ongoing basis. She is also a presenter for New Life Refuge, an anti-sex trafficking organization in Corpus Christi, TX.
She is an Adjunct Professor at in the College of Nursing. Professor this semester for 9 hours of pharmacology and 5 clinical students in the Family Nurse Practitioner program, as well as assistant professor for Maternal/Newborn course.
I would like to ask that this announcement be kept “secret” until she can be presented with the award. Since TSAOHN is not having a state conference this year this award can be presented during one of STAOHN’s fall meetings. I look forward to hearing back from you and Medique regarding this award.

Thank you,
Janie De Jesus, RN, MS, COHN-S/CM, FAAOHN
TSAOHN Director of Awards/Recognition/Benevolence